Skip to main content
College Homepage
Ask a Librarian!
 

Working Online: Find It @ GALILEO

This LibGuide answers many frequently asked questions about how to have the best experience when accessing and working with online materials.

Finding Resources

The Find It Button

  • The Find It @ GALILEO button will appear in most of the research services you will be using when there is a citation with no full-text available in the service you're using. 
  • Click the Find It! button to determine whether it's available through another of the several online research services that provide full-text articles.
  • If so, you will be able to retrieve it directly from the other service without having to open the other service and search again.  If it's not available to you online, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  Click the ILL link in the left-hand column.

Here's an example of how the Find It service works

Let's say you're searching for articles on teaching fractions in elementary school and you decide to limit your searching to the years 2000-2008.

  • Click this link to open the EBSCOHost service Academic Search Complete and perform this search.
  • You'll see a page full of results, some with the PDF icon that tells you full-text is available.
  • Many articles that you may find interesting, though, don't have full-text available, but you do see the Find It! button.   Click the Find It! button underneath the article titled The Teaching and Learning of Fractions: A Japanese Perspective by Watanabe.
  • When the next window opens, the Find It! service will show you names of other services you can access that have the full text article in them.
  • Click a link that contains the year of the article you're interested in.  Another window will open and show you a full text icon for you to use to retrieve the article, or some services will display the article directly.
  • If the Find It! service doesn't find the full-text in another service that Piedmont College provides, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  Use the ILL links you will find in EBSCOHost or Proquest services or link to the ILL request form from the Library's website.
        
 
Library Home Arrendale Library
1021 Central Avenue
Demorest, GA 30535
706-776-0111
Athens Campus Library
468 N. Milledge Avenue
Athens, GA 30601
706-433-0728
Ask a Librarian!