Skip to main content
College Homepage
Ask a Librarian!
 

Writing a Research Paper: Gathering Research

Exploring the process of writing a research paper.

Research

Piedmont College Libraries offer a wide array of resources to support your research. In addition to physical books, which can be borrowed from either the Arrendale or Athens Libraries, as a student here, you also have access to a collection of e-books from NetLibrary, a large number of academic databases, and a full-text online journal collection. If you wish, you may also obtain a lending card from UGA Libraries by taking your Piedmont ID card to the Circulation Desk at the Main Library, located on Jackson St. If there are books outside of our system, and that of UGA, that you feel are pertinent to your research, we would be happy to try and obtain them from another library through InterLibrary Loan.

If, after exploring our Libraries' homepage, you feel that you could use a guided tour of the libraries offerings, either in person or over the telephone, the library's staff would be pleased to set up an individual instruction session with you. You can find a list of the libraries' staff here: http://library.piedmont.edu/libinfo/staff.html. Please contact us with any and all questions you may have about the resources the library has to offer. If you have a brief question, you may also write to us at Ask a Librarian! through the following form: http://library.piedmont.edu/ref/ask.html.

Gathering Resources

Selected General Topics Resources

 

Academic Search Complete

A multi-disciplinary scholarly, full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Also provides indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

 

American History in Video

American History in Video aims to provide the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The current release provides over 1,470 titles, including new documentaries from PBS, equaling approximately 460 hours. AHIV allows users to analyze historical events and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

 

Cambridge Histories Online

This online service contains all 260+ volumes currently published by Cambridge University Press in their many distinguished and authoritative Histories series. Volumes can be searched and read individually, or you can search across several volumes or subject areas simultaneously.

 

CQ Global Researcher

CQ Global Researcher offers focused pro-and-con reports on vital world issues from a variety of international viewpoints. The service provides background and context for understanding, with balanced, reliable reporting on a wide array of current international issues and topics: Politics, societal and cultural change, environmental issues, economics and business, and regional issues. Recent reports include Nuclear Proliferation, Terrorism, Climate Change, Anti-Americanism, India and China Rising, World Peacekeeping, and the New Europe. 2007-present.

 

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an online reference service that provides the complete texts of hundreds of reference books from numerous highly respected publishers of reference materials.  Credo Reference covers every major subject, from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.  The collection features over 3 million entries, from over 500 reference books or sets; 200,000 audio pronunciation files; 60,000+ art, science, and medical images; and 90,000 atlas images of places and geographic features throughout the world. 

 

NetLibrary E-Book Collections

NetLibrary is one of the leading providers of electronic books. The Library provides access to over 60,000 titles, including popular and scholarly works, publications of many University Presses, reference books, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. It is possible to perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read e-books directly online. Most NetLibrary books require the use of the latest version of the Adobe Reader.

 

Omnifile Mega Edition

Full text of articles from nearly 2,300 publications, many of them peer-reviewed or scholarly. Article abstracts and indexing from over 4,000 publications, 1982-present, from Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text. Supports research for all core undergraduate subjects. Supports graduate study in education and business. Provides numerous non-scholarly magazines of current news and opinion and social and cultural commentary.

 

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online has been a familiar part of the services offered by the Library for several years.  This year, ORO has been upgraded to include two new specialized collections of reference works published by Oxford University Press.  There are 14 new works for Literature and 6 new works for Western Civilization.

 

Research Library

Extensive collection of full-text articles and citations from over 4,700 journals and magazines. ProQuest Research Library is designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas, and cover them extensively; so not only is it an invaluable service for many diverse academic disciplines, it’s also useful to readers and researchers at every level.

 

SIRS Issues Researcher

Contains selected full-text articles on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political, and global issues for high-school and early college students. In addition to full-text articles, each topic contains an overview and pros and cons of issues, with relevant supporting articles and information.

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide