Academic Writer is a complete digital environment, created by the American Psychological Association, for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in the social sciences and other academic disciplines. LEARN: Use the Learning Center to find video quick guides and tutorials to help you get started and refine your research and writing. REFERENCE: Use the Reference Center to find tools to assist you with building and managing a reference library. WRITE: Use the Writing Center to select an APA Style paper template, collaborate with peers and reviewers, and check your work.
Piedmont College students and faculty must use this link to access Academic Writer. In addition, faculty and students must also create their own personal accounts at Academic Writer to use the Reference and Write features of the service. Users must provide their Single Sign-On username and password to access the service from off-campus; once the Single Sign-On username and password is authenticated, users can create or enter their individual Academic Writer usernames and passwords. Take a look at this LibAnswer FAQ to learn to create your account.
Grammarly Premium can help you improve spelling, grammar, punctuation, sentence structure, and style in your writing. Grammarly uses grammar-checking technology to review and improve text at lightning speed, correcting grammar, spelling, word choice, and style mistakes with extreme accuracy.
As you type, Grammarly checks your text for hundreds of common and advanced writing issues. Grammarly checks for grammatical errors, such as subject-verb agreement, article use, and modifier placement; and it also checks for contextual spelling mistakes, phonetic spelling mistakes, and irregular verb conjugations. Grammarly also provides synonym and other work-choice suggestions to make your writing more readable and precise.
The following online resources are either new or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database provides extensive coverage of advanced technology literature, 1962-present, using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. Topics covered include aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications. For more ...
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection provides the citations and full-texts from these specialist A&I databases: ProQuest Environmental Science & Pollution Abstracts and ProQuest Environmental Abstracts. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, government publications, and Environmental Impact Statements.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection is based on the citation databases AGRICOLA and TOXLINE, 1960-present, including their specialized thesauruses. It also includes content previously available in the ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) service and over 10,000 Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
The Biological Science Database provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields from 1982-present, including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, endocrinology, and neuroscience. For more ...
ProQuest's atmospheric science coverage extends Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) by providing a sizable element of full-text access along with comprehensive discovery through the extensive abstracts and indexes structured using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. For coverage of aquatic science, the collection features the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA). For more ...
Featuring citations and full-text content from 1962 to present, the Engineering Database is an interdisciplinary resource that provides easy access to millions of abstracts for new technologies and engineering research, including civil, mechanical, environmental, earthquake, mechanical, and transportation engineering. Sources go beyond scholarly journals to include grey literature including patents, conference proceedings, government reports, and more to provide the researcher with the widest awareness and discovery of developments in the field.
Featuring citations and full-text content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. Sources go beyond scholarly journals to include grey literature including patents, conference proceedings, government reports, and more to provide the researcher with the widest awareness and discovery of developments in the field.