Skip to main content
 

Resources & Services for Off-Campus Users

Research Instruction

The library will still be able to provide research instruction sessions through Zoom. if you have an assignment that requires the library's assistance please don't hesitate to reach out to one of your librarians by email or using the email form at Ask A Librarian. Additionally, you may use the chat window on the library website to connect directly with a librarian, if that is more convenient. Our doors may be closed, but our services are still available.

Materials

Reserves

Reserves are normally for specific physical materials available for your students to pick-up from or read in the library. Since we our doors will be closed, you may just share articles/video/audio within Canvas to replace this service. However, if there are materials you already have on reserve or are having a difficult time finding a specific or appropriate article, etc., please reach out to your campus library for assistance.

Books

Our physical collection is at this time off limits. Any materials that you already possess need to stay in your possession. We are not equipped at this time to disinfect library materials, so that is why we are asking you to hold on to them. All due dates have been extended to the end of the semester. Please see the Books page on this site more more information and options.

Audio and Video

Need additional support for online courses? The Library has a broad selection of streaming video and audio recourses covering a range of topics. The list below includes examples with links to associated subject pages. See the Library's Online Research A-Z: Video & Audio page for a complete list of available resources. The librarians and library staff are available to assist you during the transition to online instruction. Please see the Library's website for current service hours and contact information. 

 

General Research  

  • Academic Video Online (AVON) - Provided by Alexander Street Press, AVON is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With over 68,000 titles available, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. Disciplines and subjects include anthropology, counseling & therapy, fashion, business & economics, diversity studies, education, documentary film, feature film, history, music & dance, news & current events, theatre.
  • Art & Design in Video - Brings together the most influential creative works the world over, spanning centuries and continents to share the must-see pieces—both famed and lesser-known—that have left an indelible mark upon contemporary culture. Our resources foster learning and discovery by pairing primary source artworks in a broad range of genres and formats with critical commentary that explores the significance of the works in context. Students and faculty can find resources featuring the best in painting, sculpture, photography, mixed media, architecture, fashion design, and more.
  • Business Education in Video - Business Education in Video addresses learning in many areas of business: corporate training, case studies, executive interviews, expert lectures, instructional films, and documentaries. This collection complements the business classroom by illustrating practical, real-life applications for relevant topics and skills.
  • Films On Demand Education Video Collection - The Films on Demand Education Video Collection supports instruction and research in the School of Education. When Films on Demand opens, you can browse the lists of titles and subjects. Or you can search for specific titles your professor has asked you to watch.

 

Literature & Language

  • Literature & Language in Video - Combines a variety of linguistic, cultural, and literary traditions in a way that allows users to explore and analyze themes and trends from around the world. Areas of focus include France, Spain, Germany, Russia, Japan, and China. Through interviews, biographies, and surveys of regional literature and literary periods, these titles offer researchers and students a comprehensive resource for the study of literature through time and around the globe.
  • BBC Shakespeare Plays - The highly regarded television adaptations of all 37 plays by William Shakespeare, produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985. All productions are traditional interpretations set in either Shakespeare's own time (1564 to 1616) or the historical period of the events depicted (such as ancient Rome for Julius Caesar, or c1400 for Richard II, etc.).
  • LION--Poets on Screen - Provides videos of poets reading their own work and the works of others. The poetry of all periods is presented, though much is modern and contemporary. The opening page has an author/reader list, and there is another page with a list by title.

 

Music

  • Music Online: Classical Performance in Video - Classical Performance in Video is the largest and most comprehensive video resource for the study of classical music. Users experience classical music through 1,600 performances, including 200 full operas and 75 dance titles, as well as masterclasses, documentaries, scores, and interviews.

 

Nursing 

  • Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination - Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination provides step-by-step instruction in physical examination. Patients and examiners represent diverse age groups and cultures to give students a well-rounded, realistic view.
  • Medical Imaging in Video - Medical Imaging in Video gives students and practitioners a clear, direct way to observe highly technical imaging procedures used in patient diagnosis and treatment before practicing them in a clinical setting.
  • Social Sciences in Video - SOCIAL SCIENCES as a discipline covers a broad range of subjects concerned with humanity’s efforts to understand itself and the world. Through raw field recordings, documentaries, newsreels, counseling transcripts and sessions, and much more, users can examine and connect personal, social, and spiritual aspects of the human condition. These materials facilitate exploration into humanity’s interpersonal nature across politics, the criminal justice system, business, religion, psychology, public safety, anthropology, education, and studies of the environment, and current events.

 

Theatre

  • BroadwayHD Collection - The Broadway HD Collection allows users to watch and learn from writers, directors, and actors recognized by the Tony Awards and the Pulitzer Prize. Ideal for theatre, drama, music, and even literature studies, this anywhere-anytime collection includes recordings of 25 premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theatre scene.
  • Theatre in Video - Theatre in Video currently provides streaming video productions of more than 290 of the most famous plays, together with more than 100 documentaries about all aspects of theatre.