It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The MAYFLOWER online library catalog is a gateway to discover information and research materials. It contains records to locate and access physical and virtual items—books and e-books, e-texts, videos and sound recordings, musical scores, and other materials—available to you through Piedmont College Library.
This special version of the MAYFLOWER online catalog searches for all the ebooks the Library licenses for its users. When you find something of interest, you can link directly to the title. Collections included (over 535,000 titles):Cambridge Histories Online, Credo Reference Ebooks, ProQuest Ebook Central, EBSCO Ebooks, EBSCO Academic Ebooks, Oxford Reference Ebooks, SAGE Knowledge Ebooks, Wiley Ebooks.
Credo Reference presents content from hundreds of reference books from some of the world's best reference publishers covering every major subject. There are over 3 million entries, 65,000+ images (art, diagrams, interactive maps and photos)Title List
The content is enriched by a network of cross-reference links that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide accurate, contextual results. Credo includes millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy to zoology, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature.
Doctoral dissertations are a very important source of cutting-edge, primary research material in all disciplines. At Piedmont College, they are especially significant to researchers in the Ed.D. (Doctor of Education) program and to anyone pursuing research at a high level.
While dissertations are themselves not peer-reviewed literature, their bibliographies, literature review chapters, and methodological chapters will contain references to significant research literature that may be both foundational or specific for the topic you're exploring.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) is the standard online service to locate dissertations written at universities in the United States and worldwide. It contains citations and abstracts for over 2 million works from the 19th century to the present.
In the past, ProQuest was the only source to purchase copies of dissertations, which were otherwise only available as physical copies at their home institutions, and that remains the case. However, in recent years, more and more dissertations have been made available freely and can be read in their entirely online. You can easily set the "Full text" limiter to find complete dissertations free of charge.
Comprehensive citation index of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and European universities. Formerly known as Dissertation Abstracts International or UMI. Search for Full-Text to locate recent dissertations and theses that may be available through the open-access publishing program.
Dissertations without Full-Text
Citations for dissertations are included in a number of online citation/abstract services, such as ERIC; and citations for dissertations are included in bibliographies of journal articles, books, and ebooks.
When you encounter a dissertation citation, you can copy its title and search in PQDT to see whether you have access to the full-text. If you don't, you can ask that the library purchase a PDF copy for you, using the Book Request Form that's part of the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) pages.
Choose carefully when you ask the Library to purchase a dissertation because the Library funds the purchase of only two (2) dissertations for each doctoral student during their time in the doctoral program.